INnovation among
EURopean Subregions

Roscommon County Council - Ireland

Roscommon County Council provides the main local Government services within the administrative area of County Roscommon – NUTS IV region. Local elections are held in order to elect representatives onto the authority.  The elected representatives are responsible for the representation of local communities and ensuring that their concerns are expressed and needs met.  Local representatives have the power to vote for or against developments that will impact on the local community.

Roscommon County Council is responsible for the delivery of a wide range of economic, social, cultural and regulatory services. These services generally include housing assistance, planning, development and economic activities, provision of roads and water services, protection of the environment, provision of recreational facilities and amenities.

Under the auspices of Roscommon County Council, Roscommon County Development Board is an independent body that promotes co-operation between all agencies and development groups operating in the county and oversees the development and implementation of the County’s ten year Economic, Social and Cultural Strategy 2002 – 2012 and operates on the partnership principle with the Regional Assemblies (NUTS II) and under the local government umbrella with membership drawn from local development organisations, social partners, local representation of State agencies and local government itself. The Board has provided the focus for co-operation at county level in the work of the various agencies, promotes co-ordination and avoids overlap.  By bringing together the various interests in this way, it seeks to maximise the effectiveness of spending on programmes and projects.